Family: Metastrongyloidea

Revised 04/05/24




  • Recent Clessification

    Alternative Classification
    Relationships among species, genera, and even families, within the Nematoda are becoming clearer as morphological, morphometric, and life history features are considered along with molecular-based phylogenies. However, there remain differences of opinion among experts regarding classifications above the family level.  Such differences are apparent in the classification in the Order Strongylida or the consideration of suborders of the Strongylida as suborders of the Rhabditida.
    Rhabditida Strongylida
    Rhabditina Metastrongylina
    Metastrongyloidea Metastrongyloidea
  •            Metastrongyloidea Lane, 1917

    Back to Top

    Morphology and Anatomy:


    Many species of lungworms are significant pathogens of humans, dometsic and wild mammals.  The superfamily Metastrongyloidea  is represented by more than 180 species.  Most of the species use terrestrial gastropod molluscs as intermediate hosts (Lesage et al., 2015).

    Classifications differ among authorities but a recently used scheme recognizes seven families (Anderson, 2009):


    Anderson, R.C. 2009. Keys to the nematode parasites of vertebrates: archival volume.

    Beveridge, I., Spratt, D.M.  and Durette-Desset, M-C. 2014. Order Strongylida (Railliet and Henry, 1913). In Schmidt-Raesa, A. (ed). Handbook of Zoology: Gastroctricha, Cycloneurelia and Gnathifera. Vol 2. Nematoda. De Gruyter, Berlin

    Lesage, C., Patrelle, C., Vrignaud, S., Decors, A., Ferte, H., Jouet, D. 2015. Intermediate hosts of Protostrongylus pulmonalis (Frolich, 1802) and P. oryctolagi Babos, 1955 under natural conditions in France. Parasites and Vectors 8:104. DOI 10.1186/s13071-015-0717-5


    Return to Rhabditida Menu

    Go to Nemaplex Main Menu