Family: Trichostrongylidae

Revised 01/27/23




           Trichostrongylidae Leiper, 1912

A huge family of animal-parasitic nematodes that has undergone several revisions into different families and of groupings into different families and subfamilies.

By the early part of the 21st Century, six subfamilies were recognized:


Trichostrongylinae Leiper, 1908

Ostertaginae Lopez-Neyra, 1947

Haemonchinae Skrjabin and Shul'ts, 1952

Cooperiinae Skrjabin and Shikhobalova, 1952

Libyostrongylinae Durette-Desset and Chabaud, 1977

Graphidiinae Travassos, 1937

In a recent classification (Beveridge et al., 2014), some of those subfamilies were elevated to family ranking within the superfamily Trichostongyloidea:

Families of the Trichostrongyloidea:  Cooperiidae, Haemonchidae and Trichostrongylidae

Within the Trichostrongylidae, three subfamilies are recognized:

Back to Top

Morphology and Anatomy:



Beveridge, I., Spratt, D.M.  and Durette-Desset, M-C. 2014. Order Strongylida (Railliet and Henry, 1913). In Schmidt-Raesa, A. (ed). Handbook of Zoology: Gastroctricha, Cycloneurelia and Gnathifera. Vol 2. Nematoda. De Gruyter, Berlin

Durette-Desset, M-C., Hugot, J.P., Darlu, P. and Chabaud, A.G. 1999. A cladistic analysis of the Trichostrongyloidea. Int. Jour. Parasitol. 21:579-587.


Return to Trichostrongylidae Menu

Return to Rhabditida Menu

Go to Nemaplex Main Menu