Family Iotonchidae

Revised 08/27/21








 Iotonchidae Jairajpuri, 1969
  The family was proposed to include the genera Iotonchus, Hadronchus, and Prionchudellus.  Mulvey (1978) added Parahadronchus and Jairajpuri and Khan (1982) added Jensenonchus and Megaonchulus.  Siddiqi (1984) added Caputonchus and Mulveyellus and a toothless genus, Nullonchus. Then, Ray and Das (1983) and Jairajpuri  and Rahman (1984) added Hadronchulus and Hadronchoides, respectively. In 1983, Andrassy added Iotonchulus but the genus is not universally accepted. For example, Zullini and Penova (2006) did not support the validity of Iotonchulus Andrassy, 1993 or of Megaonchulus Jairajpuri & Khan, 1982 because the genera do not differ in stomatal characters from Mulveyellus Siddiqi, 1984 and Polyonchulus Mulvey & Jensen, 1967, respectively.


Ahmad, W. and Jairajpuri, M.S. 2010.Family Iotonchidae Jairajpiri, 1969. Chapter 8 in Mononchida (eds Ahmad and Jairajpuri) Nematology Monographs and Perspectives7:193-238.

Jairajpuri, M.S., Khan, W.U. 1982. Predatory Nematodes, (Mononchida) with Special Reference to India, Associated Publishing, New Delhi. 131p.

Loof, P.A.A. 2006. Nematology 8:287-310.

Zullini, A. and Peneva, V. 2006. Order Monochida in Eyualem-Abebe, Andrassy and Traunspurger, Freshwater Nematodes : Ecology and Taxonomy. CAB.

Return to Iotonchidae Menu

Go to Nemaplex Main Menu